FG Reveals List Of States To Be Used For WHO Drug Trials

The Federal Government have listed States that will be use for World Health Organisation WHO coronavirus drug trials.

According to reports Six Nigerian states have been listed to be used for the trials.

The Federal Government has listed Lagos, FCT, Ogun, Kaduna, Sokoto and Kano states to be enrolled on the World Health Organisation (WHO) treatment regimen on solidarity drug trials.

This was revealed on Monday by the Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire in Abuja, at the 29th joint national briefing of the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19.

Daily Trust reports that WHO announced Nigeria expressed interest to be part of the global solidarity drug trial to tackle COVID-19 pandemic and that the process would soon start in the country.

The Officer in charge, WHO Nigeria and member of the PTF on COVID-19, Dr. Fiona Braka, told Daily Trust in an exclusive interview in Abuja that what Nigeria signed up for was drug trial and not vaccine trial, as there was yet no vaccine for the COVID-19.

According to her, the four drugs that will be monitored in the solidarity trial are Remdesivir; Chloroquine or hydroxychloroquine; Lopinavir, and Ritonavir.

However, Ehanire said at the briefing that the Federal Government is cooperating with the WHO on treatment regimen Solidarity trial with the aforementioned states.

Be the first to comment